February 13, 2012

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate S-128, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives H-307, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Inouye and Chairman Rogers:

I am pleased to transmit to you the Explanatory Notes and Annual Performance Plan of the Office of Government Ethics (OGE). The attached document sets forth OGE's budgetary request and justification for Fiscal Year 2013.

We will be pleased to discuss our request with representatives from your offices, and we look forward to our annual briefing on OGE's plan and budget. If you need additional information with regard to this request, please contact Shelley Finlayson, Associate Director, Legislative Affairs and Budget, at 202-482-9314.

2 HICELETA

Don W. Fox

Principal Deputy Director

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye The Honorable Hal Rogers Page 2

cc: (w/Encl.): The Honorable Thad Cochran Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations United States Senate S-146A, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

> The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government Committee on Appropriations United States Senate 133 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

> The Honorable Jerry Moran Ranking Member Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government Committee on Appropriations United States Senate 125 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman Chairman Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate 340 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Susan Collins
Ranking Member
Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
344 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye The Honorable Harold Rogers Page 3

The Honorable Norm Dicks
Ranking Member
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
1016 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jo Ann Emerson Chairwoman Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives B-300, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable José E. Serrano
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Financial Services
and General Government
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
1016 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515-6015

The Honorable Lamar Smith Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States House of Representatives 2138 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable John Conyers, Jr.
Ranking Member
Committee on the Judiciary
United States House of Representatives
B351 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye The Honorable Harold Rogers Page 4

> The Honorable Darrell Issa Chairman Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives 2157 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

> The Honorable Elijah E. Cummings Ranking Member Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives 2471 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515